February in New Haven

Hello everyone!

It´s been a while since my last post. I have been kind of busy preparing my trip to the US, also preparing a move, and finishing my application to a scholarship in record time so I had it ready before coming to New Haven.

As I mentioned in previous posts, during this month of february I am working at the Yale-New Haven Hospital on an international rotation as part of my residency program. I have the possibillity to spend up to 6 months in other hospitals to complete my training, and I decided to take the opportunity to use one of them to come to the United States. That way not only I can experience and learn from a different approach to Hospital Pharmacy at one of the best hospitals in the country, but also I have the oportunity to work in an international (and very different) enviroment.

Of course living for a month in New Haven was also a plus. It is the home of Yale University, and here it is all about Yale. The whole downtown is the university campus and it is full of neo-gothic buildings, surrounded by libraries, shops, cafes… There is always an interestig conference or event to attend (last week there was a representation of La Boheme by the Yale Opera). So, in the end, and taking into account the long hours at the hospital, New Haven has just enough to offer to keep you busy or entertained. At least until weekend arrives and you jump into a train to get to New York or Boston, where I happen to have friends who have invited me over.

Being here has given me the opportunity to experience, not one, but two snow storms, something not so usual in Madrid:

https://scontent-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/t1/1555348_10151988574188576_1538375011_n.jpg

My first morning in New Haven

During this period, I will visit at least a couple of the business schools I am interested in. In fact, I have already planned my visit to Tuck for march 3rd. The Spanish tuckies have been kind enough to offer their homes for me to stay, and even one of them took the time to research the best and fastest way for me to get to Hanover from New Haven (all available schedules included)… I guess it is a very good example of that collaborative enviroment and welcoming spirit Tuck school is so proud of. On the other hand, I had to cancel a visit to Yale SOM, but I hope I can re-schedule for later in the month; and I also hope I can visit MIT or NYU.

Before going back to Madrid, and taking advantage of the English-speaking enviroment around me, I also intend to finish my preparation for the TOEFL exam. I have already scheduled it for the 28th, and I am confident I will be able to score around 105 at least. During my practice sesions, none of the four parts of the exam seems to be a problem, although the Speaking section is, of course, the most delicate one and the one I will practice more intensely in the remaining days.

Before leaving you again, let me share with you the link to my interview with Accepted.com. I truly appreciate their interest in my blog and my story.

See you soon!

Responder

