Researching schools

Now that I have finished with my MSc final project and given the fact that I won´t be at full throttle with GMAT until mid-august, I have now the time to really get started with Business Schools research.

Choosing a school where to apply is not as easy as it sounds, many factors come into consideration: location, curriculum, enviroment, school´s phylosophy, class size, intended industry…  The weight of each of those factors depends on the applicant´s interests and will determine which schools a candidate ends up applying to.

As for me, I am certain that I want a two-year program, since I think it suits better my career-changing plans, and that I would like to enter a top US school (given the fact that I´m going to spend so much time and put so much effort into it, let´s shoot for the stars). There are great schools here in Europe too, but I think it would be a more complete and challenging experience if I pack my back and cross the pond. But those are my only certainties for the moment, since many schools are appealing, and every top school has unique characteristics: Tuck´s location and phylosophy, Booth´s momentum and flexibility, Standford´s entreprenurial enviroment…I could go on with every school.

The amount of work ahead is daunting, so my first step will be to create/design a spreadsheet to resume each school´s characteristics and relate them to my interests and goals. Of course I have already signed up to some school-hosted events taking place in Madrid in the next few months, as a coffee chat this fridaywith some Booth students or the ones hosted by AdComs of Booth, Tuck or Haas next fall among others. Those are the best oportunities to get to know what people that “have been there” might have to say and to actually meet some of the people who are going to decide on your application.

It´s a ton of work, but I still have time until fall 2014, the sooner the better.

Un pensamiento en “Researching schools

  1. Pingback: Choosing a Business School | The MBA Story

Responder

